What Would I Do?

It’s just past Christmas, but it already seems a year away. It almost felt as if it never came into this smog-enshrouded, angry city of New Delhi. However, there’s a song about this down below if you continue to read!

My Christmas was messy. What with a hectic end to school term, dealing with death, fatigue and many people to meet, things to wind up as well as follow through on, my family had no time to prepare for Christmas before we left for our retreat. We got back the day before Christmas and still weren’t able to get things up, even on Christmas day. The retreat was so good that it made the return a little hard to adjust to!

And then it struck me…Jesus’ birthday was harried, messy, highly stressful and very vulnerable. A far cry from the elaborate (albeit often good-intentioned) efforts we put in to get our homes and families ready for the season. All of Joseph’s and Mary’s good intentions were scuttled by the labour pains coming on, giving them no time for preparation, as they had to travel a long way to report to Bethlehem for the census. I can’t imagine the frustration they may have felt at the unwanted and dangerous journey (for a heavily pregnant woman) they had to make. But it was something God allowed and used.

All our days before Christmas were invested in people, giving us little time for rest or shopping (and our stores don’t allow low-budget Christmas buying). With this realisation, the frustration slipped away, with the sense of having, in some way, shared in the difficulties Jesus and his earthly parents had faced during His birth, and what Jesus had faced serving people during His earthly life. This, I felt, was more ‘Christmas’ than the ridiculous videos of break-dancing Santas that well-intentioned, but clearly ignorant, friends and people were sending me.

In the glitz, glamour, and glittering, tinny triteness of christmas clamour without Christ, that feels like sand in the mouth, that sets the teeth on edge like a sip of vinegar, that angers and saddens in strange cadences of hot and cold flushes of disbelief and embarrassment, I felt the words Jesus said to His disciples in Matthew 24:12, begin to ring in my head, ‘Then comes the time when many will lose their faith, and will betray and hate each other. Yes, and many false prophets will arise, and will mislead many people. Because of the spread of wickedness the love of most men will grow cold, though the man who holds out to the end will be saved.’ 

It’s easy to see what can cause love to be seduced away and for it to grow cold. I had written a song before we left for our retreat, about these thoughts, and I want to share it with you. It’s a simple recording made on my phone, but should suffice for now until I can get a better recording made. You’ll find the lyrics below the Audiomack player.

What Would I Do?  
© Indi Sundaram, December 2016. If you want to use this song or its lyrics, please write me for permission via the contact page, letting me know what you want to use it for, and I don’t think I will have many objections, if you give proper credits.  🙂

What would I do if it wasn’t Christmas coming around;
Would I still think of You if there wasn’t a tree?
In the summertime would I still say ‘Happy Birthday Jesus’?
Would this be the only season I think of Thee?

When I’m far from home would I still share Your Love?
Would I still buy gifts without a stocking to put them in?
Would I still sing ‘Gloria!’ when there are no carol rounds?
Are You just a day in the calendar when holidays begin?

I beg You,
Don’t let Your Memory depart!
I’ll hang Your Star
On the door of my heart!

Would I put away Your Presence with the star and the angels?
Would I turn off Your Light when I pack the tree away?
Will I stop giving gifts when the store has no Santa Claus?
Will Your Good News stay locked in my mouth till another year fades?

I beg You,
Don’t let Your Memory depart!
I’ll hang Your Star
On the door of my heart!

Gloria in excelsis Deo!

Leave a Reply

