Lying Fallow

My family has moved into a new season of spending time together and praying. It’s been changing the way we relate to each other and to people as well, and it’s been, well, quite wonderful really.

However, the result has been reprioritizing what we do when we come back from work, and making and protecting the time we spend together. We’ve also been trying to regain our flagging energy levels by sleeping earlier. This has meant that the blog has had to shift lower in priority, and long gaps are developing in writing posts.

However, this has also meant I have more time to visit other blogs as reading takes less time than writing and constructing a post. The result of this season of more reading and visiting other blogs, has resulted in more interaction and input, and that’s quite wonderful too. What an amazing community is out there, and what a richness of interaction and sharing!

fallow-ground-2

Time to breathe.

Just yesterday, while walking home with my daughter after picking her up after her sleepover at her friend’s, I asked her how she had spent her time there, and she quipped, ‘Oh, we managed to waste time quite effectively.’ and that little comment stuck in my mind. Since we came back from our winter break, I’ve been able to do little writing, but it’s been quite an amazing learning season, and the lack of writing, though sometimes feeling like a waste of time, may really be the most effective thing in this season of my family’s life. Like land lying fallow, it gives me the time to breathe in and receive what God is teaching, showing and preparing in this season. I’m beginning to feel that this may be the time to ‘waste’ effectively, so that when its season comes around again to bear crop, it may be ready to do so and be doubly fruitful.

fallow-ground-4

There’s a time for everything, and a season for all things under the sun.

I have many posts on the anvil, but I haven’t felt the release to write and upload them. I think it’s just as well. The blog shouldn’t drive me. It’s my tool to communicate what is on my heart to write about, and without the attendant reflection and ‘listening’ that goes with each post to what God is teaching in each time, it would very soon turn into my own effort to build my own kingdom. This is why I’ve never sought to make the blog more ‘known’ or ‘successful’, and each person it impacts is a source of constant wonder and thanks for me.

I don’t think I would like to lose that sense of wonder and thankfulness.

I really appreciate every one of you who reads, follows or even visits my blog, and I sincerely hope that what I write will continue to bring life, hope, encouragement and fellowship to anyone who reads. I trust that God, who is the best teacher I have ever had, will bring precious insights and valuable lessons out of this season of ‘lying fallow’.

Leave a Reply

