Big and Bright Love

Today is Valentine’s Day.

I’ve never connected with it, probably because of all the hype and commercialization associated with it. However, this time I decided to think about love and the perfect song-poem came back to mind. One that I’ve waited for the right time to share, which has been the story of my life and the big, bright Love that calls this wreck precious. It’s not my poem. It’s by one of my favourite poets, Stevenson Stockman, and this is from the album Gracenotes that he and Samuel Hill made together.

So without much further ado, here’s the track. The song ‘Soaked in a Dearer Wine’ leads directly into the poem ‘Beyond, In The Midst’. I hope this blesses and encourages you if you find yourself to be as broken as I have been, to seek and find this wonderful Jesus, who though being the King of the universe, loved us broken, traitorous, confused and rebellious people enough to die for us and take all of our shame upon Himself, in exchange for life and freedom.

THE BEYOND IN THE MIDST – 
I couldn’t find the lyrics to Soaked in a Dearer Wine, but the words are clear and you can follow along.

Beyond me
Beyond my comprehension
Beyond my understanding
Beyond me definitions
Beyond my highest efforts
Beyond my lowest fall
Beyond my morality
Beyond my most penitent call.

In the midst of me
In the midst of my tears
In the midst of my frailties
In the midst of my fears
In the midst of my cheers
In the midst of my sighs
In the midst of my sinfulness
In the midst of my lies.

Dying for me
Dying for my masks of fake
Dying for the distorted opinions
Dying for the promises I break
Dying for the words carelessly thrown
Dying for murderous thoughts within
Dying for my adulterous looks of lust
Dying for my sin.

In the midst you reach out
In the midst you offer grace
In the midst you throw your arms around me
In the midst you kiss my dirty face
In the midst you touch my soul
In the midst you cast your smile
In the midst you love this vagabond
In the midst you call me your child.

out-of-ashes

Out of Ashes – This painting I had done some years back, embodies the story of God’s love in my life.

3 thoughts on “Big and Bright Love

  1. Beautiful. Sometimes, I think we forget that we can express love to the Father on this day. I remember agonizing over this day and feeling so out of sorts…but now, all I care about is candy, and I can have that any day…and usually a bit less expensively. LOL! Seriously, i understand not really having a need for the day…seems kinda vain.

    Like

  2. “The beyond in the Midst” is the beautiful poem. Thank you for sharing me.

    On Tue, Feb 14, 2017 at 7:32 AM, Indi and Lydia’s Scratchpad wrote:

    > indilydia posted: “Today is Valentine’s Day. I’ve never connected with it, > probably because of all the hype and commercialization associated with it. > However, this time I decided to think about love and the perfect song-poem > came back to mind. One that I’ve waited for the ” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

